You might also like: 30+ BTS’ Facts That You Probably Didn’t Know Before!

I Purple You is a phrase made up by Kim Taehyung or V inspired by the last color of the rainbow, purple. It means “I will love and trust you for a long time.” Initially, he was just joking, but the phrase went viral among ARMY. So, the whole fandom as well as BTS members started to use it. Purple also unofficially became the color of BTS. In September 2019, ARMY celebrated 1.000 days since the phrase ‘I Purple You’ was first used in November 2016. ARMY flooded the internet with the phrase ‘I Purple You’ as a way of celebrating the 1.000 days. Let’s find more details about ‘I Purple You’ in this Channel-Korea article!

‘I Purple You’ (Borahae) Is BTS and ARMY’s Another Word For I Love You

For BTS and ARMYs, ‘I Purple You’, known as Borahae in Korean, has a similar meaning to “I Love You”. The reason behind purple as a replacement word for love is because purple as the last color in the rainbow has the meaning of “I will trust you and love you for a long time”. Since it was first popularized by BTS along with the purple heart emoji, the color purple unofficially became the fandom color as well as a BTS symbol.

You might also like: Let’s Find Out BTS’s Favorite Food Here!

BTS members also started to use purple heart in their tweets or other social media when they’re communicating with ARMYs, ever since “I Purple You” was first said. It also led to brands endorsed by BTS to create violet products so they can match BTS.

Kim Tae-hyung—the One Who Popularized the Phrase ‘I Purple You’

The phrase ‘I Purple You’, or Borahae, was first popularized by Kim Taehyung, also known by his stage name V. It was in November 2016, during the BTS third muster that V said the words and explained the meaning behind them. At first, he said he was joking and said that he just made it up, but ARMY and other BTS members were impressed by it so it became so popular. You might like: Here Are BTS Members’ Favorite Colors and Their Meaning Although it started as a joke, the meaning behind it is sincere. V said that the color purple is related to his love for his fans. Just like what Borahae means, he hopes he can see his fans for a long time, and they—BTS—always trust ARMY and go up the stairs with ARMY.

How BTS’ V Actually Came Up with The Color Purple for “I Purple You”

Through a BTS interview, V revealed how he came up with the phrase “I Purple You.” The idea first came to his mind when they were in the concert and he saw ARMY covered their Bombs with a purple cloth so the light shone in purple. At that time, he thought that it looks like the rainbow signified youth, and the last color purple stood for loving and cherishing each other until the end. And that’s how he suddenly came up with “I Purple You.” So, do you like purple, too? Was it amusing to find out how V came up with the idea that became this big and became a symbol of ARMY’s love for BTS? If you’re curious about BTS, don’t worry, you can browse through the collection of Channel-Korea articles to find other news about BTS. Let’s spread love and spread this article so more people know what it means when you say ‘I Purple You’!

 I Purple You  Meaning  Did BTS  V Make That Up  - 55 I Purple You  Meaning  Did BTS  V Make That Up  - 89 I Purple You  Meaning  Did BTS  V Make That Up  - 17 I Purple You  Meaning  Did BTS  V Make That Up  - 98